Court orders
In this wonderfully multicultural society here in the UK, we have a huge menu of cultural dierences. At McKenzie Picave, we find ourselves with increasing awareness of Sharia Law, Islam's legal system. We do not practice it, but lots of our clients have had involvement, usually through marriage. I thought I'd put below some of the things I've learnt recently after studying this law further. It is such a deep and interesting subject, so let's all learn (unless you're a Muslim, in which case you probably already knew all this...Please still read it, we need the engagement) 
Sharia is Islam's legal system, derived from the Quran, Islam's holy book, s well as the Sunnah and Hadith, the deeds and sayings of The Prophet. 
Where an answer cannot be derived directly from these, religious scholars may give rulings as guidance on a particular topic or question. 
In Arabic, Sharia literally means "the clear, well-trodden path to water" 
Sharia acts as a code for living that all Muslims should adhere to, including prayers, fasting, and donations to the poor. 
It aims to help Muslims understand how they should lead every aspect of their lives according to God's wishes. 
There are five dierent schools of Islamic law. There are four Sunni schools: Hanbali, Maliki, Shafi'i, and Hanafi. There is just one Shia school, Jaafari. 
The five schools dier in how literally they interpret the texts from which Sharia law is derived. 
Interpretation of Islamic law is also nuanced according to local culture and customs, which means Sharia may look quite different in different places. 
At McKenzie Picave, we will continue our education on Sharia law and continue to draw on the intuition of a friendly Imaam whenever the  
opportunity to explore the subject arises. 
Eid Mubarak 
Can we help you in your Family Court case? Get in touch today
Share this post:

Leave a comment: 

Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings